St. Francis Xavier Catholic Church in Warra was consecrated and officially opened by Archbishop Duhig on 30 March 1913.
The church was situated on the most elevated position in the township, and was of a very handsome design. It measured 17 feet by 25 feet, with a Sanctuary 17 feet by 14 feet. It was lined and ceiled with Wunderlich ceiling and painted inside and out.
Over the years, many happy occasions were celebrated in the church, as it was the gathering place for the social and spiritual events of the Catholic community.
The church was destroyed by a severe storm which struck the township of Warra on 15 December 1980.
Today the site is marked by a memorial tower which houses the original bell and crosses.