The first resident minister of the Church of England in Dalby was the Rev. E. G. Moberley, who commenced duties in the early 1860s.
In 1866, the first Church of England church was built, a brick building on a site near where the present State School residence stands. The brick church was later replaced with a wooden church building, which later became the Parish hall.
The wooden building was used until 1923, when the present St. John's Anglican Church was erected.
St. John's Anglican Church is still in existence, and is located on the corner of Cunningham and Drayton Streets, Dalby.
St. John's Anglican Church was listed on the Queensland Heritage Register on 14 August 2008.