Edgefield State School (No. 1161) was opened in January 1916 and closed in 1924. The school reopened as Edgefield Provisional School (No. 1776) on 4 November 1946 using a building relocated from Pleasant Park State School.
In 1949, the school once again became the Edgefield State School but closed in 1960.
In 1964, the school building was deemed excess to requirements and sold to Mr. E. Hartman, who moved it across the road to where it stands today.
The site at the northern end of Salt Well Road, Irvingdale, was returned to the Trustee of the Estate of W. Wenham in 1964.